Health and Social Care Committee

Meeting Venue:

Committee Room 1 - Senedd

Meeting date:

29 November 2012

Meeting time:

09:15

Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru

National Assembly for **Wales**



For further information please contact:

Policy: Llinos Dafydd Committee Clerk 029 2089 8403

HSCCommittee@wales.gov.uk

Agenda

- 1. Introductions, apologies and substitutions
- 2. Inquiry into the implementation of the National Service Framework for diabetes in Wales and its future direction Oral evidence (09.15 12.25)

Diabetes and Endocrinology National Specialist Advisory Group (09.15 - 10.15)

(Pages 1 - 4)

HSC(4)-32-12 paper 1

Dr Phil Evans, Chair

Dr Mike Page, Chair, Welsh Endocrine and Diabetes Society

Julie Lewis, diabetes specialist nurse lead for Wales

Professor Stephen Bain, Chair, Diabetes Research Network Wales

Diabetic Retinopathy Screening Service for Wales (10.15 - 10.45) (Pages 5 - 6)

HSC(4)-32-12 paper 2

Professor Richard Roberts

Break 10.45 - 10.55

RCN Wales (10.55 - 11.35) (Pages 7 - 11)

HSC(4)-32-12 paper 3

Lisa Turnbull, Policy & Public Affairs Adviser Nicola Davies-Job, Acute Care Adviser **Welsh Government officials (11.35 – 12.25)** (Pages 12 – 18)

HSC(4)-32-12 paper 4

David Sissling, Director General, Health, Social Services and Children Dr Chris Jones, Medical Director NHS Wales and Deputy Chief Medical Officer

3. Motion under Standing Order 17.17 to establish a sub-committee to take evidence on The Smoke-free Premises etc. (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2012 (12.25 - 12.30) (Pages 19 - 21) HSC(4)-32-12 paper 5

That the committee resolves, under Standing Order 17.17 to establish a subcommittee to take evidence on The Smoke-free Premises etc. (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2012;

that the remit of the sub-committee is to hear evidence, concurrently with the sub-committee established by the Enterprise and Business Committee on The Smoke-free Premises etc. (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2012. The sub-committee will seek to agree on the content of a joint report with the sub-committee established by the Enterprise and Business Committee to inform the Assembly's consideration of the regulations. The sub-committee will cease to exist when the Regulations have been considered by the Assembly in plenary;

that the membership of the sub-committee comprises Mark Drakeford AM, Vaughan Gething AM, Elin Jones AM, Darren Millar AM, and Lynne Neagle AM, with Mark Drakeford AM elected as a Chair.

4. Papers to note (Pages 22 – 26) Minutes of the meetings held on 15 & 21 November